The United Nations Interagency Task Force on Religion and Sustainable Development (IATF-Religion) began in 2010 to provide policy guidance around engaging with faith- based actors, deepen UN system staff capacities on/around intersections of religion with the UN pillars of development, human rights and peace and security dynamics, as well as provide strategic policy guidance.


The UN Task Force on Religion and Development consists of the following members:

  1. Chair: UNFPA (United Nations Population Fund)
  2. OGPRtoP (UN Office of the Secretary General’s Special Adviser on the Prevention of
    Genocide and the Responsibility to Protect)
  3. OHCHR (Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights)
  4. UNAIDS (Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS)
  5. UNAOC (United Nations Alliance of Civilizations)
  6. UN CTC (United Nations Security Council Counter-Terrorism Committee)
  7. UN DESA (United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs)
  8. UNDP (United Nations Development Programme)
  9. UNDPI (United Nations Department of Public Information)
  10. UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)
  11. UNEP (United Nations Environmental Programme)
  12. UN Habitat (United Nations Human Settlements Programme)
  13. UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees)
  14. UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Fund)
  15. UNV (United Nations Volunteers)
  16. UN Women (United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women)
  17. World Bank (WB)
  18. WFP (World Food Programme)
  19. WHO (World Health Organization)
View website View annual report
« View all organizations